Introduction 2.0

Having come back from such a long absence, perhaps I should take a second to re-introduce myself, especially since there’s more to say about where my head is and isn’t compared to last time I wrote a “first post.”

Hi! I am a spiritual polyvore. After an agnostic upbringing, I spent nearly twenty years total in various forms of Paganism, ten of them in leadership roles. Then comes a long story it’s not time for here, so we jump to the present, where I have been Episcopalian for several years. Either way, I have always had a contemplative and mystical bent, which means I do a lot of thinking about how my own thoughts and actions relate to my ideals and tend to have an, um, experiential component to my religious feels. “Discernment of spirits,” I think we call it here. I have strong Carmelite leanings. All of that said, I haven’t turned my back on other religions being benign and right for other people, and retain respect for and interest in just how many ways there are for people to dig into that wonderfully rich and strange aspect of human life. And I still watch violent movies and listen to rock music and play video games and swear.

This potentially stirs up any of a whole pot of problems for people. Cussing Carmelites are not normally a thing. Neither is a high-church Christian still hanging around with the Pagan intellectual elite, which I know from experience blows minds on both ends of the equation. I can’t help it: I don’t do dualism very well. And that is ultimately likely to be a theme here. When I’m not on overtly spiritual topics, expect to see my dualism fail applied to things like autism, gender, sexual orientation, gamer and geek culture.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj)
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 12:55:19

    So good to have you back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow maryoftheassumptions on WordPress.com
Arcanum Tarot Magick

Hoodoo Worker Tarot Reader

MystikNomad

Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Lamus Dworski

Uncovering Poland: folklore, customs, mythology, legends, history, and more.

Drinking From the Cup of Life

Words for the God of Ecstasy

Your Holiday Mom

Offering Our LGBTQ Youth A Virtual Home For The Holidays

The Road, the Walker, and What Comes Next

Exploring Devotional Practice in Polytheism - Actual real-life blog of pagan author Silence Maestas

New World Witchery - the Search for American Traditional Witchcraft

A show about magic and witchcraft in North America

Lasara Firefox Allen

Writings, courses, retreats, guidance, and ceremonies for the new aeon.

Sarenth Odinsson's Blog

Exploring Myself and the Northern Shaman Path

Digital Discipline

Abuse, Inspiration, Occasional Insight.

Roman Revivalism

Reigniting Vesta's Flame

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Sacred Profanity

Showing you that all you hold sacred is profane and all you consider profane can be made sacred. Even you.

The Saturated Page

blog of author Jolene Dawe

