Mardi Gras

Tonight I prepare myself for the Great Defragging, 40 days of paying attention. Tomorrow, I will start to re-organize and simplify my life, stripping away what no longer fits and giving the opened space to God.

In practical terms, for me, this will mean getting back on the Weight Watchers wagon, and also committing at minimum to doing “the hours” for morning and night. (I will be making an honest effort to also do noon and compline, but I don’t want to get perfectionistic about it and crash myself.) Incidentally, if you’re interested in the Hours and are Anglican/Episcopalian, I strongly recommend St. Bede’s Breviary, which not only is available and highly customizable on the internet, but is now testing a good tablet and smartphone-friendly version.

Meanwhile, I am going to resume reading and thinking about At Home in the World by Margaret Guenther, a book about applying principles from monastic Rules of Life to one’s own life shy of actually joining a Third Order. My life is often full of little pokes in this direction: in fact they were a big factor in my being a Pagan priestess for so long. But having burned out on that particular function and changed houses, I’ve been slow to move this time. Having given myself a year to ripen in the basics, and the poke not having gone away, I am moving temerously into the interest in Rules and Hours that I suppressed last year.

Tonight, however! Tonight I go to church to gorge on pancakes. Let it not be said that Episcopalians don’t know how to debauch properly on Mardi Gras. *chuckles*

Leave a Reply

Follow maryoftheassumptions on WordPress.com
Arcanum Tarot Magick

Hoodoo Worker Tarot Reader

MystikNomad

Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Lamus Dworski

Uncovering Poland: folklore, customs, mythology, legends, history, and more.

Drinking From the Cup of Life

Words for the God of Ecstasy

Your Holiday Mom

Offering Our LGBTQ Youth A Virtual Home For The Holidays

The Road, the Walker, and What Comes Next

Exploring Devotional Practice in Polytheism - Actual real-life blog of pagan author Silence Maestas

New World Witchery - the Search for American Traditional Witchcraft

A show about magic and witchcraft in North America

Lasara Firefox Allen

Writings, courses, retreats, guidance, and ceremonies for the new aeon.

Sarenth Odinsson's Blog

Exploring Myself and the Northern Shaman Path

Digital Discipline

Abuse, Inspiration, Occasional Insight.

Roman Revivalism

Reigniting Vesta's Flame

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Foxglove & Firmitas

Life, Death, & the Polytheist Revival

Sacred Profanity

Showing you that all you hold sacred is profane and all you consider profane can be made sacred. Even you.

The Saturated Page

blog of author Jolene Dawe

